Solve the Problem: “BOOTMGR image is corrupt. The system cannot boot.”

Today, I accidentally made my laptop blackout. I used to unintentionally drop my laptop from a chair to the ground, so my laptop’s mainboard has been suffered and has a chance to become a “short-circuit” mainboard easily if there is something drop on to it. Again, I made something dropped on to my laptop and then my laptop’s screen did not show anything. I try so many times to made my laptop went to work normally. I forgot to tell you that my laptop is Compaq Presario CQ40-401TX. While it was not working, but the power button was pressed, it showed nothing excepts two lights at the Numlock and Caplock were blinking all the times. In this case, I solved by removing all peripherals and get rid of all power sources from my laptop. Then hold down the power button around 15-30 seconds to make sure that no power left in laptop. After that,  Try to put only one power source to laptop and turn it on normally. I tried these steps about 6 times today in order to made my laptop work. Unfortunately, another problem occured to my laptop. After I turned on the laptop, the logo of my laptop presented and there was nothing terrible. But after the logo was gone, another message appeared on the screen which said that “BOOTMGR image is corrupt. The system cannot boot.”. This time the problem comes from Boot Manager of my Windows 7. So I found the solution at Yahoo Answers and I shall describe how to solve this problem.

How to repair Windows 7′s (or Vista’s) Boot Manager by using Bootrec.exe

  1. After turn on the laptop (or PC), try to access “Repair your computer” via F8 key.
  2. In the System recovery options window, select “Command Prompt”.
  3. Type Bootrec.exe /[option]  where [option] is the way to repair your PC. There are 4 options available which are: /FixMbr, /FixBoot, /ScanOs, and /RebuildBcd. For me, I choose /FixBoot. (More details at Microsoft Support)
  4. Restart.

That’s it. Now my laptop can be turned on normally. Thank you Yahoo Answers and Microsoft Support again.

5 thoughts on “Solve the Problem: “BOOTMGR image is corrupt. The system cannot boot.”

  1. Geraldo says:

    Wow thanks… seems so simple now :) Thanks a million!

    By the way, I have had the ‘bootmrg image is corrupt’ after creating a partition in my data HD (Windows is installed in an SSD) and installing Ubuntu (Lubuntu actually) alongside… hope this comment helps other folks in the same situation to find the answer they are looking for.

Leave a Reply

